Abydos Royal Tombs

Error message

Deprecated function: The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls in _menu_load_objects() (line 579 of /var/www/egyptartefacts.griffith.ox.ac.uk/includes/menu.inc).

The Y here probably refers to the royal tomb of Merneith and to the subsidiary burials arranged around it in the Umm el-Qa'ab at Abydos. Flinders Petrie numbered royal tombs as follows: Aha (tombs B5, B6, B10, B14, B15, B16, and B19), Narmer (B17/B18) and nearby tombs (B1, B2 'Benerab', B9 'Zeser?', B7 Ka), Djer (tomb O), Peribsen (tomb P),Qaa (tomb Q),Den (tomb T),  Semerkhet (tomb U), Khasekhemwy (tomb V), Djet's subsidiary burials (Cemetery W), Andjib (tomb X), Merneith (tomb Y) and Djet's tomb (tomb Z)

UC37020, Courtesy of the Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology, UCL



Royal tomb of Merneith (Y)

Tomb O (Djer) Abydos

Tomb O (Djer) Abydos